The Adams Street Shul

Congregation Agudas Achim Anshei Sfard

Yasher Koach to our Committee Chairs

Congratulations to our newly appointed committee chairs:

Development: Leonard Berman ()
Education: David Sloane ()
Facilities: Saul Aronow ()
Finance: Jordan Wagner ()
Membership: Beri Gilfix ()
Publicity: Avigayil MacArthur ()
Ritual: Aryeh Cheses ()

Time is one of our most valuable assets. These individuals sacrifice their time for the betterment of our community and deserve a special place in our esteem.

Please contact these individuals with questions about specific events or to discuss ways you can get involved.

A Modern Community

We hope you will visit us when you visit Boston. If you live here, we hope you will participate in our educational classes, religious services, and holiday celebrations. 

For a quick overview of what's going on, visit our News page and our Calendar.

A Historic Shul

The Adams Street Shul is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We are now in our second century of service to the Jewish community.

Part of our mission is to preserve and maintain this historic building, with the help of many supportive friends.

Rabbi Norbert Weinberg

The Adams Street Shul

(617) 630-0226

168 Adams Street
P.O. Box 600371
Newton, MA 02460

You can make a donation right now, using a credit card, electronic check, or the balance in your PayPal account.

Three Weeks Schedule

Click here for the Three Weeks schedule. The Three Weeks are the period of mourning between the Fast of Tammuz and Tisha B'Av.

Shabbat Times

Candle-Lighting in Nonantum for Friday, July 29, is at 7:50 pm.    Shabbat concludes at 8:49 pm on Saturday, July 30.  

Torah Portion

This Saturday is Shabbat Pinchas, Mevarchim.  
(The Torah Reading is Bamidbar 25:10-30:13;   and the Haftarah is I Kings 18:46-19:21.)

Minyan Schedule

for the weekend of 7/29-7/31, Shabbat Pinchas & Mevarchim:

Friday Mincha 7:00 PM
Saturday Shacharit 9:00 AM
  Mincha 7:30 PM
Sunday Shacharit 8:00 AM

Today's Local Zmanim

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
21 Tammuz 5776
for 168 Adams St., Newton MA
Alot: 3:49 am
Mishekayir: 4:23 am
Sunrise: 5:32 am
Kriat Shema (M"A): 8:35 am
Kriat Shema (Gr"A): 9:11 am
Latest Tefilah: 10:24 am
Chatzot: 12:51 pm
Mincha Gedolah: 1:27 pm
Mincha Ketanah: 5:7 pm
Plag HaMincha: 6:38 pm
Sunset: 8:10 pm
Tzeit Ha-Kochavim: 8:59 pm

Upcoming Educational Events

Wednesday, Jul 27 @ 7:30 pm
Red Heifer or Red Herring?

A shiur by Leead Staller, Senior Fellow at the Summer Beis Medrash of Sharon.
Thursday, Jul 28 @ 8:30 pm
When Does Zealous Become Too Zealous?

Rabbi Yaffe's class meets around the corner from the Shul, at Yury's Piano, 339 Watertown Street.